3M United States3M Collision

Meet some heroes

At a recent Collision Repair Education Foundation event in Chicago, we got a chance to catch up with two recipients of 3M Hire Our Heroes grant winners. Hire Our Heroes aids our nation's veterans and their families pursuing careers in the collision repair industry. To date, 3M and our customers have awarded more than $500,000 students, and more students will be helped next year. Look for application detail on the Collision Repair Education Foundation beginning in mid January 2016.

Paul Hyde at CREF Cars, Careers and Celebrities

Dan Dwyer at CREF Cars, Careers and Celebrities


2015 marks the third year 3M has partnered with the Collision Repair Education Foundation (CREF) in support of the collision repair industry and our nation's veterans. Since 2013, 3M has donated $500,000 to be used towards scholarships and tool grants for military veterans and their family members.

3M Automotive Aftermarket Division and CREF are proud to announce the 43 winners of this year's 3M Hire Our Heroes awards. The winners include 35 students who are currently studying collision repair, and who have served or are currently serving in the military. Each winning student had the opportunity to select $3,000 worth of tools to help them in their education, and for employment after graduation.

"Our nation's military veterans deserve every opportunity to get a great start in our industry," said Dale Ross, U.S. Marketing Operations Manager at 3M Automotive Aftermarket Division. "We are happy to continue to give back to those who have served in our military through the 3M Hire our Heroes program, and wish them all great success in their future careers."

"The future of our industry starts with these students," said Mark Algie, Business Development Manager, 3M Automotive Aftermarket Division. "Our job is to not only provide the leading-edge training they need to succeed, but to also make sure that the latest tools, repair materials, and standard operating procedures are available to them."

Grants are available for qualifying returning veterans and family members. Grants may be used for tuition, school fees, tools, textbooks and equipment at qualifying technical schools. For additional information and to apply, visit CollisionEducationFoundation.org.

3M Hire Our Heroes Grant Recipients:

Kevin Thomas – Gadsden State Community College, Anniston, AL

David Crank – Pulaski Technical College, Little Rock, AR

Robyn Wood – Aims Community College, Greeley, CO

Larry Boyce – Withlacoochee Technical College, Inverness, FL
James Roush – Lake Technical Institute, Eustis, FL

Danny Lewis – Wiregrass Technical College, Valdosta, GA

Christopher Kelly – Hawaii Community College, Hilo, HI

Martin Zurita – Idaho State University, Pocatello, ID

Jorge Maya – Kennedy King College, Chicago, IL
Danny Taylor – Parkland Community College, Champaign, IL

Gabriel Davis – Ivy Tech Community College, Fort Wayne, IN
Paul Hyde – Ivy Tech Community College, Fort Wayne, IN

Joseph Gates – Hawkeye Community College, Waterloo, IA
Derrick Palmer – Southeastern Community College, West Burlington, IA

John Newman – Washburn Institute of Technology, Topeka, KS
James Wood – Manhattan Area Technical College, Manhattan, KS

Jacob Truckey – Washtenaw Community College, Ann Arbor, MI

Frank Wiginton – Itawamba Community College, Tupelo, MS

New York
Henry Bunk – Erie Community College, Orchard Park, NY

North Carolina
Ray Alston – Guilford Technical Community College, Jamestown, NC
Brad Gilliam – Blue Ridge Community College, Flat Rock, NC
Julian Rorie – Forsyth Technical Community College, Winston-Salem, NC
Ronald Woolett – Sandhills Community College, Pinehurst, NC

Roland Greer – OSU Institute of Technology, Okmulgee, OK
Sean Holmgren – Great Plains Technology Center, Lawton, OK
Cory Stead OSU – Institute of Technology, Okmulgee, OK
Thomas Thon – Great Plains Technology Center, Lawton, OK

Michael Brewer – Tennessee College of Applied Technology, Paris, TN
Jedidiah Long – Tennessee College of Applied Technology, Knoxville, TN
Allen Martin – Lincoln College of Technology, Nashville, TN

Clynt Holt – Universal Technical Institute, Houston, TX
Philip McKee – Texas State Technical College, Bellmead, TX
Joseph Normandin – Texas State Technical College, Waco, TX
Joseph Shatterly – Universal Technical Institute, Houston, TX

Michael Cook – Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College, Rice Lake, WI


Scholarship Winners:

In addition, eight collision students that have immediate family members that served or are serving in the military were selected as scholarship winners. Each student received a scholarship between $1,000-$2,500 to help with their education costs.

North Carolina
Amanda Prince – Cape Fear Community College, Wilmington, NC

Roland Greer – OSU Institute of Technology, Okmulgee, OK

Brianna Fleming – Indiana County Technology Center, Indiana, PA
Sean McCallister – Middle Bucks Institute of Technology, Jamison, PA

South Carolina
Jospeh Cebreiros – Academy for Careers and Technology, Marion, SC
Andrew Moxley – Applied Technology Center, Rock Hill, SC

Joseph Shatterly – Universal Technical Institute, Houston, TX

Caitlin Baier – Fox Valley Technical College, Appleton, WI

Close Lightbox